This much I know about…how our colleagues are first and foremost people | johntomsett

This much I know about…how our colleagues are first and foremost people | johntomsett

I have been a teacher for 29 years, a Headteacher for 14 years and, at the age of (nearly) 53, this much I know about how our colleagues are first and foremost people.

If I have learnt anything in my time as a head teacher, it has been the value of chatting with my colleagues about things other than work. We all have a life going on beyond school, a life which is more important and which is often emotionally demanding. I am amazed, on a regular basis, at how colleagues keep doing a great job when they are living through difficult times outside of school.

My first duty as a head teacher…

Continue reading at:
http://ift.tt/2sJE97r

Leave a Reply

