This much I know about…how for the first 25 years of my teaching career I didn’t really understand what I was doing | johntomsett

This much I know about…how for the first 25 years of my teaching career I didn’t really understand what I was doing | johntomsett

I have been a teacher for 29 years, a Headteacher for 14 years and, at the age of (nearly) 53, this much I know about how for the first 25 years of my teaching career I didn’t really understand what I was doing.

Enthusiasm and force of personality got me through, pretty successfully, the first quarter of a century of my teaching career. Over that time my students attained pretty good examination results. I forged great relationships in the classroom (when it comes to teaching, that’s half the battle, for sure), but I didn’t really understand how my teaching impacted upon students’ learning,…

Continue reading at:
http://ift.tt/2tdrKVP

Leave a Reply

